Club Respect is an initiative of the Victorian Women’s Trust, its harm prevention entity, The Dugdale Trust for Women & Girls.



Men and women working together holds the key to achieving fairness and equality, and reducing abuse and violence in our society.

Club Respect has been forged by a close working relationship over a ten year period between Mary Crooks AO (Executive Director of the Victorian Women’s Trust) and Paul Zappa (Principal Project Consultant).

Our team from the Victorian Women’s Trust: 




Sophie Bliss, Project Officer




Jan Browning, VWT Volunteer

The development of Club Respect has been strengthened by the support and insight of our Critical Friends: 

Tarik Bayrakli – Operations Manager, Australian Sports Technologies Network (formerly of Sports Without Borders)

Laura Douglas – Six-fold Consulting Group

Margot Foster AM – Women Sport Australia

Ted Hopkins – Former Carlton Football Club player, founder Champion Data

Jonathan Horn – Department of Premier & Cabinet (Victoria)

Peter Kelly – Regional Project Officer, Strengthening Hospital Responses to Family Violence, Colac Area Health 

Libby Mears Leisure Networks

Brian PhelanMelbourne Storm

Kat Poulton – Psychologist

Peter Robinson – Melbourne Storm

Shawn WilkeyAboriginal Victoria, Department of Premier & Cabinet (Victoria)


Dr Julia Walsh, Senior Lecturer in Sport Coaching at Deakin University has played an invaluable role in providing significant mentoring advice and continues to contribute greatly to Club Respect.

We also acknowledge Anthea Rutter, Senior Research Fellow in the Centre for Program Evaluation at the University of Melbourne, for her evaluative work on Club Respect. 


Staff and volunteers of the Victorian Women’s Trust have also played valuable roles in bringing the Club Respect initiative into reality: Grace Mountford, Ally Oliver-Perham, Maria Chetcuti, Esther Davies Brown and Casimira Melican.